Don’t Rush Me – 3 words which made me think

“Don’t rush me. I don’t like it when you rush me.” yells my 5 year old son last weekend as we were on our way to do the grocery shopping.

I need to hear him and listen. My son is delivering a very strong message to me – I need to stop and make time to listen and aapreciate my family and friends. I need to stop making lists of everything I want to get done on a weekend and stop moving myself and my family at road runner like speed to fit everything in that i wanted to do. These days I think I am more similar to Wile E Coyote- moving with purpose but uneffectively – with my goal slipping through my fingers.

Scott Stratten said it best in his TED X Oakville talk from October 2010. Take a listen. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Cakm2nIQWo

You are the architect of your future, says Robin Sharma, author of The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari. And to some degree you are for your children as well as you build, purposefully or not, the environment in which they grow up. Children are products of their environment leading me to ask the question what core values and attributes you want your children to take away from your home environment as they grow older?
Consider this, if you are all work – always on your computer or handheld device -At the table, on family movie night, out at the skating rink – what do you think your child could think? How will this behaviour lead them to develop?

In words of Simon and Garfunkel:
Slow down, you movin’ too fast
You gotta make the MORNING last
Just kickin’ down the cobblestones
Lookin’ for fun and
Feelin’ groovy

Leave a comment

Filed under Delivering A Wake Up Call

Leave a Reply

