Exploring Technology

My 70 something mother bought herself an ipad the other day and brought it over to show her grandsons her new toy. (Considering she never turned a computer herself over the last 20 years and used to write our annual Christmas letter out by hand – this is a quantum leap.) Needless to say, when my boys began playing with her ipad, they fell in love with it.

On my sons' Christmas list

They loved being able to move and open folders, applications, etc. just with the touch of their fingers. Yes – now an ipad is on each of their Christmas wish lists. Apparently so is an ipod Touch according to my 8 year old.

Technology is advancing so quickly. Check out this video by Microsoft 

What The Future Holds

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dact-1Tdgz0

It is pretty incredible to think that this will likely happen sooner rather than later. The question is – how do you keep up?

As a parent I would like to be more than aware of what is going on around me; however I feel that I am lagging behind. If I am feeling like a neophyte, how do I help my children be comfortable with technology? Will they explore on their own? If my husband and I don’t show them, will they be behind the technology curve?

While I would love to think that my sons would gain knowledge about technology in schools, I don’t foresee schools being well equipped with the latest equipment unless they are privately funded. So I am starting to explore ways to give my children greater exposure to this world and at the same time try to educate myself. A colleague suggested I take them on a field trip to an Apple store so they could try out the floor models in the store. My husband and I are also allowing them some more time on our home computer to explore on the internet (under our supervision). I have found a great organization called The Director’s Cut  http://www.thedirectorscut.ca/ which has spring break and summer camps for children giving them hands on experience to make movies – filming, editing, sound etc. all with technology.

Parent and Child Animation Classes Every Saturday During the Summer

I have also heard that the National Film Board’s Toronto Mediatheque is offering Parent and Child animation classes on Saturdays all summer long. http://www.onf-nfb.gc.ca/eng/mediatheque/schedule.php?id=2047 

We are going to check them out!

We have also decided as a family we are saving for a Flip Video camera. Money earned from chores, loose change etc. will be put in our money jar and counted every week. Hopefully before the end of the summer we will have enough to buy and experiment with a Flip. 

I am hoping that by giving our children the opportunity to explore in this arena, that we are helping to be more prepared for the future. And hopefully, I will be as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Technology, Thoughts, Under The Influence

Leave a Reply

